National Capital Chapter

PRSA NCC Leadership 2023

Chapter Officers and Board of Directors

Our chapter is governed by a board of directors, which includes chapter officers and directors. The immediate past president also serves as a voting ex-officio member of the board.

Chapter Officers

Leah McConnell Dergachev, MBA
Chief Storyteller, Austley
Karin Drinkhall, APR & PMT
Director of Communications, CNA Corporation
Lisa Kiefer
Vice President, Morning Consult
Amanda Ponzar
Chief Communications and Marketing Officer, CHC: Creating Healthier Communities
Jaya Koilpillai Bohlmann, APR
Vice President
Founder and Chief Consultant, Designing Communication
Larry Parnell
Vice President
Associate Professor & Program Director, The George Washington University
Patricia Hernandez, PhD
Vice President
Assistant Director of the MA in Communication Program, Johns Hopkins University Advanced Academic Programs



Jennifer Boone Bemisderfer, APR
Security Communications Lead, Amazon
Crystal Borde
Vice President and Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Practice Lead, Vanguard Communications
Allie Erenbaum
Senior Account Supervisor, Edelman
Henry Kenney III, MPS
External Relations Analyst, Consumer and Entertainment, AARP
Adiya Mobley
 Senior Vice President and Partner, FleishmanHillard
Southerlyn Marino Reisig
Founding Partner, Newport Partners Public Affairs
Mike Smith
CEO, GreenSmith PR and MSBD, Inc.
Carol Wilkerson
Assistant Vice President for Communications & Media Relations, American University
John Yaglenski
Director of Communications and IT, IEEE-USA
Robert Krueger
Immediate Past President (ex-officio)
Executive Communications Manager, Gensler


Committee Leaders:

Accreditation (APR) Committee Co-chair:

Mark Erwin, APR

Amy Philpott, APR

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Committee Chair:

Crystal Borde

Ethics Officer:

Samantha Villegas, APR

Hall of Fame:

Lauren Lawson-Zilai

Trisha Hernandez

Marcom Committee Chair:

Megan Sweeney

Membership Committee Chair:

Jennifer Strohm, APR

Mid-Atlantic District Representative:

Karen Drinkhall

Nomination Committee Chair:

Robert Krueger

Pro Bono Committee Co-Chairs:

Joellen Leavelle

Professional Development Committee Co-Chairs:

David Rodewald

Programming: Assn-Nonprofit Co-Chairs:

Laura Gross

Diana Olson

Christie Phillips, APR

Alysa Reich

Scott Ward

Sponsorship Committee Chair:

Lisa Chensvold

University Relations Committee Chair:

Henry Kenney, III, MPS


To contact any of our Officers or Board members, please email them at

Past Presidents

Chapter Sponsors